Who We Are

Board of Directors

Minerva’s Board consists of volunteers from industry, government, academia, union (labour) and Health and Safety associations. Its key industry sponsors include a growing list of organizations committed to principles that combine efficiency and productivity within an effective safety, health and environmental management culture.

  • Chairman and President: Anthony Pasteris – Retired from Imperial Oil Limited
  • Vice President: Peter Sturm – Sturm Consulting and Past President, Canadian Society of Safety Engineering
  • Secretary-Treasurer: Larry Masotti – Director, Strategic Relationships, Workplace Safety & Prevention Services
  • Simona Mazat – Minerva Meeting Coordinator, Workplace Safety Prevention Services
  • Andrew Cooper – Past President, Canadian Society of Safety Engineering, and Lead EHS System Planning, Development, Dept. of Environmental, Health & Safety, University of Alberta
  • Kim Gould – Manager Health and Safety, Canada Post, Ontario
  • Anis Haque – Electrical, Computer Engineering Professor, University of Calgary
  • Trevor Johnson – Ex Officio Member, President of Canadian Society of Safety Engineering, Alberta
  • Jules Artnz-Gray – Director Training and Awareness Branch, Ontario Ministry of Labour
  • Iain McNab – Chief Scientist, SunPillar, Ontario
  • Deborah McPhee – Associate Professor, Goodman School of Business, Brock University, Ontario
  • Graeme Norval – Associate Chair and Undergraduate Coordinator, Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry, University of Toronto
  • Vic Pakalnis – President and CEO, MIRARCO Mining Innovation, Laurentian University, Ontario
  • Sandro Perruzza – CEO, Ontario Society of Professional Engineers
  • Marcel Pouliot – Vice President, Trimac Transportation Services LP, Alberta
  • Marc Rosen – Professor and Founding Dean, University of Ontario Institute of Technology
  • Don Petkau – Professor, Faculty of Engineering, University of Manitoba
  • Frank Saunders – Vice President, Nuclear Oversight & Regulatory Affairs, Bruce Power, Ontario
  • Robert Schultz – Haskayne School of Business, University of Calgary, Alberta
  • Lynn Smith – Engineering Workplace Safety Leader, General Motors of Canada, Ontario
  • Wendy Tobin – Region Canada Safety/Health/Environment Manager, DuPont Canada, Ontario
  • Sue Bruning – Professor at I.H.Asper School of Business, University of Manitoba
  • Ron Pelot – Assoc. Dean COOP, Faculty of Engineering, Dalhousie University, N.S.
  • Dave Turner – Past Chair, Board of Canadian Registered Safety Professionals, Saskatchewan
  • Robin Angel – BCRSP and Regional Director, Nova Scotia Government OHS LAE
Minerva Working Committees

The Working Committee of the Board consist of volunteers from industry, government, academia, union (labour) and Health and Safety associations. Sub-committees that include at least one Board member are formed to deal with all planning and execution of the various Minerva program activities. These activities include:

  1. Engineering Student Teaching Modules, including their development and delivery
  2. Minerva Health and Safety Learning Forums at Canadian Universities (for Engineering, Business professors)
  3. Engineering Student Award competition, including judging and presentations
  4. Business Student Award competition, including development of case studies and judging the case study presentations from the finalists
  5. Newsletters and Communications
  6. Case Studies – review proposals, award contracts, and review case study submissions
  7. Minerva Webinars – planning and facilitation of webinars
  8. Minerva Sponsorship of Student Activities – student projects, special workshops
  9. Minerva Corporate Sponsorship Activities